First experience with Burmese Food at Burma Burma, Mumbai!

GREEDY PALATE REVIEW:

Known for: Burmese Food

Cost: Rs. 1500 for 2 people (Approx)

Address: Kothari House, Allana Centre Lane, MG Road, Behind Mumbai University, Fort, Mumbai

Rating: 3/5  ( Only trouble is the long queue and irritating arguments in order to get in)

I was just exploring South Mumbai sometime back and was wanting to try something which I had never tried before. Bored of eating Chinese, Italian, Indian and Thai, Zomato helped me spot a restaurant called ‘Burma Burma’ at Fort in Mumbai.

‘Burmese food sounds interesting’, I thought to myself and planned to check it out. It was late night around 10:00 pm and the restaurant was completely booked. After a little bit of waiting and almost giving up, I managed to get a place. The people were extremely friendly and polite and assisted me in choosing the right combinations.

As soon as I sat, the waiter came in and asked me if I had experienced this kind of food before. I denied. He went and got the menu and started explaining to me how the dishes are prepared and how the combinations are made. It was a good to learn something of the Burmese food.

A friend who was accompanying me forgot her spectacles hence had trouble reading the menu. To our surprise, the waiter presented us a whole box of glasses and offered her one by one which suited her and could read the menu. This was something I had never seen in a restaurant, which really impressed me.

We started off with a soup which was tangy and spicy with a small samosa in it. The flavours were amazing and I couldn’t stop myself from completely emptying the bowl and still thinking of wanting more. Next, was a salad, which had lettuce and something really crispy. I couldn’t really figure out what it was, but I am sure it was something made from dal. (Please don’t ask me which one, cause I myself am still trying to know). But it was really yummy!

Time for the main course and we settled ourselves with noodles and mushroom dish. This was also quite a unique tasting combination. In the meantime, I also ordered a refreshment, which was amazingly refreshing. It has lemon leaves along with many other herbs which were really soothing to the whole experience.

The ambience of the restaurant has a modern-rustic look with a unique decor of the traditional fans and bells on the side.There were a small tea bar and a wall to wall showcase which displays show pieces and artefacts from Burma.

The restaurant also has a small shop where you can buy some really amazing stuff. It even has its own bottled water which contained many different kinds of herbs and spices. Time for some dessert!

We ordered an ice cream which was presented with some theatre to it. No guesses here, liquid nitrogen! Reminded of Heston Blumenthal. He is a Chef from Britain well known to incorporate with liquid nitrogen in his dishes and present some unique combination of food.

Sadly, we couldn’t sit for a long time to enjoy the ambience as much as we wanted to because of the time. But it definitely left me satisfied and contended with the food along with the experience and it’s definitely on my list to visit next time I am in Mumbai.

Rating: 4/5

One thought on “First experience with Burmese Food at Burma Burma, Mumbai!

  1. Nice review. Had the opportunity to eat at their Gurgaon outlet last week and just posted my review on the blog. BB really has their flavours and textures in the bag. I’m glad people like their food because we need more stuff which is different from the usual fare.

    Like

Leave a Reply

